Squid Sport Makes Awards Historical past (Once more), This Time on the Emmys


Image for article titled Squid Game Makes History (Again), This Time at the Emmys

Picture: Noh Juhan | Netflix

As Awards season continues, Squid Sport supremacy is nigh. The Netflix-produced dystopian fiction present has continued to indicate as much as award exhibits able to remove the competitors, and so they have regularly accomplished so. The recognition of this present is unmatched, and albeit, they deserve each award.

On the Emmys this 12 months, Squid Sport was nominated for Finest Drama Collection, Jung Ho-yeon, Park Hae-soo, and Oh Yeong-su had been nominated for supporting actor awards, respectively. Lee Jung-Jae received Finest Lead in a Drama Collection, making historical past for as the primary Asian result in win an Emmy for a non-English present. He’s additionally set to star in Star Wars’ The Acolyte subsequent 12 months.

As reported over the weekend, the Inventive Arts Emmys showcased much more style nominees and winners, together with Arcane, Marvel’s What If… , and Moon Knight. You may view the complete checklist of nominees and winners on the Emmys’ website, however the main classes and winners are under:

Drama Collection

  • “Higher Name Saul” (AMC)
  • “Euphoria” (HBO)
  • “Ozark” (Netflix)
  • “Severance” (Apple TV+)
  • “Squid Sport” (Netflix)
  • “Stranger Issues” (Netflix)
  • WINNER: “Succession” (HBO)
  • “Yellowjackets” (Showtime)

Comedy Collection

  • “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
  • “Barry” (HBO)
  • “Curb Your Enthusiasm” (HBO)
  • “Hacks” (HBO)
  • “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)
  • “Solely Murders within the Constructing” (Hulu)
  • WINNER: “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
  • “What We Do within the Shadows” (FX)

Restricted Collection

  • “Dopesick” (Hulu)
  • “The Dropout” (Hulu)
  • “Inventing Anna” (Netflix)
  • “Pam and Tommy” (Hulu)
  • WINNER: “The White Lotus” (HBO)

Lead Actor in a Drama Collection

  • Jason Bateman (“Ozark”)
  • Brian Cox (“Succession”)
  • WINNER: Lee Jung-jae (“Squid Sport”)
  • Bob Odenkirk (“Higher Name Saul”)
  • Adam Scott (“Severance”)
  • Jeremy Sturdy (“Succession”)

Lead Actress in a Drama Collection

  • Jodie Comer (“Killing Eve”)
  • Laura Linney (“Ozark”)
  • Melanie Lynskey (“Yellowjackets”)
  • Sandra Oh (“Killing Eve”)
  • Reese Witherspoon (“The Morning Present”)
  • WINNER: Zendaya (“Euphoria”)

Lead Actor in a Comedy Collection

  • Donald Glover (“Atlanta”)
  • Invoice Hader (“Barry”)
  • Nicholas Hoult (“The Nice”)
  • Steve Martin (“Solely Murders within the Constructing”)
  • Martin Quick (“Solely Murders within the Constructing”)
  • WINNER: Jason Sudeikis (“Ted Lasso”)

Lead Actress in a Comedy Collection

  • Rachel Brosnahan (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)
  • Quinta Brunson (“Abbott Elementary”)
  • Kaley Cuoco (“The Flight Attendant”)
  • Elle Fanning (“The Nice”)
  • Issa Rae (“Insecure”)
  • WINNER: Jean Sensible (“Hacks”)

Lead Actor in a Restricted Collection or Film

  • Colin Firth (“The Staircase”)
  • Andrew Garfield (“Below the Banner of Heaven”)
  • Oscar Isaac (“Scenes From a Marriage”)
  • WINNER: Michael Keaton (“Dopesick”)
  • Himesh Patel (“Station Eleven”)
  • Sebastian Stan (“Pam and Tommy”)

Lead Actress in a Restricted Collection or Film

  • Toni Collette (“The Staircase”)
  • Julia Garner (“Inventing Anna”)
  • Lily James (“Pam and Tommy”)
  • Sarah Paulson (“Impeachment: American Crime Story”)
  • Margaret Qualley (“Maid”)
  • WINNER: Amanda Seyfried (“The Dropout”)

Selection Discuss Collection

  • “The Every day Present With Trevor Noah” (Comedy Central)
  • “Jimmy Kimmel Reside!” (ABC)
  • WINNER: “Final Week Tonight With John Oliver” (HBO)
  • “Late Evening With Seth Meyers” (NBC)
  • “The Late Present With Stephen Colbert” (CBS)

Competitors Program

  • “The Superb Race” (CBS)
  • WINNER: “Lizzo’s Watch Out for the Large Grrrls” (Amazon Prime Video)
  • “Nailed It!” (Netflix)
  • “RuPaul’s Drag Race” (VH1)
  • “Prime Chef” (Bravo)
  • “The Voice” (NBC)

Tv Film

  • WINNER: Chip ’n Dale: Rescue Rangers (Disney+)
  • Ray Donovan: The Film (Showtime)
  • Reno 911!: The Hunt For QAnon (Paramount+)
  • The Survivor (HBO/HBO Max)
  • Zoey’s Extraordinary Christmas (The Roku Channel)

Supporting Actress in a Drama Collection

  • Patricia Arquette (Severance)
  • WINNER: Julia Garner (Ozark)
  • Jung Ho-yeon (Squid Sport)
  • Christina Ricci (Yellowjackets)
  • Rhea Seehorn (Higher Name Saul)
  • J. Smith-Cameron (Succession)
  • Sarah Snook (Succession)
  • Sydney Sweeney (Euphoria)

Supporting Actor in a Drama Collection

  • Nicholas Braun (Succession)
  • Billy Crudup (The Morning Present)
  • Kieran Culkin (Succession)
  • Park Hae-soo (Squid Sport)
  • WINNER: Matthew Macfadyen (Succession)
  • John Turturro (Severance)
  • Christopher Walken (Severance)
  • Oh Yeong-su (Squid Sport)

Supporting Actress in a Comedy Collection

  • Alex Borstein (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
  • Hannah Einbinder (Hacks)
  • Janelle James (Abbott Elementary)
  • Kate McKinnon (Saturday Evening Reside)
  • Sarah Niles (Ted Lasso)
  • WINNER: Sheryl Lee Ralph (Abbott Elementary)
  • Juno Temple (Ted Lasso)
  • Hannah Waddingham (Ted Lasso)

Supporting Actor in a Comedy Collection

  • Anthony Carrigan (Barry)
  • WINNER: Brett Goldstein (Ted Lasso)
  • Toheeb Jimoh (Ted Lasso)
  • Nick Mohammed (Ted Lasso)
  • Tony Shalhoub (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
  • Tyler James Williams (Abbott Elementary)
  • Henry Winkler (Barry)
  • Bowen Yang (Saturday Evening Reside)

Need extra io9 information? Take a look at when to count on the newest Marvel and Star Wars releases, what’s subsequent for the DC Universe on movie and TV, and the whole lot it’s worthwhile to learn about Home of the Dragon and Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Energy.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here